J.Juan will equip the brakes of the official Can Am, favorites to win the Dakar 2019 in the SXS category

J.Juan will equip the brakes of the official Can Am, favorites to win the Dakar 2019 in the SXS category

South Racing is the official Can Am team that will compete in the Dakar 2019. The team directed by Scott Abraham will use the powerful Can Am Maverick X3, starting as clear favorites to win the Side by Side (SxS) category Side by Side.

South Racing has chosen to face the most beautiful race in the world, equipping the vehicles with the J.JUAN racing braking kit. A choice born from tests that the same Scott Abraham has achieved, equipping over 2018 more than 50 Maverick in the race with the brakes produced in Barcelona (Spain) for this type of vehicles. With only 667 kg of weight, these sports UTVs are powered by 120 horsepower. Their agility and maneuverability, gives it a sporty spirit that is convincing and converting the great drivers and riders of rally cars and motorcycles.

There will be three official drivers of the South Racing at the Dakar in Peru, all potential candidates for the final victory: the Brazilian Reynaldo Varela, already winner of the category in 2018 with the same Team, Gerard Farrés, the Spanish rider passed by the two wheels – third at the Dakar ’17 – to the Side by Sids and able to conquer several successes in the season on this new caterogy, in addition to the American star Casey Currie, great winner in the American trials of Best In The Desert and Baja California.

J.JUAN started working at best on this competitive braking system in 2018, after the success achieved in 2017 at the BAJA 1000 in California, where his driver Marc Burnett won the World Score Championship.

Since then, the presence of this braking kit counts its participations with successes of the aforementioned pilots as well as the Stéphane Brunet (France), Brett Comiskey (Australia), Jesus Cucharrera (Spain), Chrtistine Giampaoli (Spain), Austin Jones (USA), Werner Mostert (South Africa), Monica Plaza (Spain), André Vilas Boas (Portugal).and, also, the pilots presents in the next Dakar’19

  • 340- Reynaldo Varela (Brasil)  – Gustavo Gugelmin (Brasil)
  • 343 -Cassey Currie (USA)
  • 358- Gerard Farres (Esp) – Daniel Oliveras (España)
  • 344- Sergei Kariakin (Rusia) – Anton Vlasiuk (Rusia)
  • 348- Claude Fournier (Fra) -Charly Gotlib (Belgica)
  • 360- Francisco López (Chile) – Álvaro Juan Leon  (Chile)
  • 366- Hernan Garcés (Chile) – Juan Pablo Latrach (Chile)
  • 368 -Joan Font (España) -Juan Félix Bravo (España)
  • 372- Miguel Jordao (portugallo) y Lourival Roldan (Brasil)
  • 378- Ricardo Porem (Portugal) – Jorge Monteiro (Portugal)
  • 385 -Anette Fisher (Alemania, Andreas Mayer (Alemania)
  • 397 – Bruno Varela (Brasil)
  • 398- Cristian Baumgart (Brasil) – Alberto Andreotti (Brasil)
  • – Emilio Ferrando. (España) -Guillermo Gómez de las Heras (España)-
  • 412-Marcos Baumgart (Brasil) Kleber Cincea (Brasil)
  • – Dani Sola (España) – Pedro López (España)
  • 416- Roberto Carranza (España) – Juan Carlos Fernández (España)
  • – José A. Hinojo (España) – Xavier Blanco (España)
  • 431 – José Salaverry (Perú) – Raúl Aray (Perú)
  • 414- Diego Heilbrun (Perú) – Juan Pedro Cilloniz Duclos (Perú)